Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Extremely worried! Please help!

Hi Everyone,

I'm so glad I found this site, it looks like it could be of great help.

I am a newly qualified teacher from Canada and have never supply taught before. I have never even set foot in a UK classroom before, so I am feeling extremely overwhelmed by this. I start supply teaching this week, and I do not feel ready or prepared. I don't know what to expect, only that I hear that behaviour management is the number one concern of teachers here, and that it is MUCH different than in Canada, in that at home the children are much more respectful of teachers.

Here are some questions I would appreciate your help with:

1. What is the best way to introduce yourself?

2. Is it better to do an icebreaker? Say tell them about Canada, read them a book about canada I brought over, etc etc. OR go straight into their normal routines?

3. What do I do if they just do not listen? I've had kids during my practicum just walk right out of the class before, what do I do if that happens here?

4. What are the best ways to get primary kids to listen, focus, do their work, behave, etc?

5. If I have to do playground duty, is it normally on your own, and what happens if a fight occurs between students I do not know? What are some ways to defuse the situation and get them to listen and stop what they are doing.

Any other tips or suggestions or just general expectations of what I should expect on the first day would be extremely helpful.

Thanks!!

Meg

Hello

Hey Meg,

I was in a similar situation just a few weeks ago. I am an NQT and had to start supply work...I just didn't feel ready. However, I am pleased to tell you that it is going really well and I feel that I have developed as a teacher already.